1999 - Bank of Commerce (Malaysia) Berhad merges with Bank Bumiputra Malaysia Berhad to form Bumiputra-Commerce Bank Berhad.


1991 - Bank of Commerce merges with United Asian Bank. In a major restructure, the merged banks become Bank of Commerce (Malaysia) Berhad, under holding company Commerce-Asset Holding Berhad (CAHB). CIMB becomes a separate CAHB subsidiary.


1987 - Bank of Commerce successfully lists on Bursa Malaysia


1986 - PBSM changes name to Commerce International Merchant Bankers Berhad (CIMB) after acquisition by Bank of Commerce.


1974 - Pertanian Baring Sanwa Multinational Bank (PBSM) established in Kuala Lumpur and launched by Prime Minister Tun Abdul Razak Hussein